Kontos Building Panels

Infographic about the origin, finding, awakening and next chapter of the East Marshall Street Well

Learn about the history of the East Marshall Street Well Project in our EMSW Kontos Building Brochure.

Family Representative Council

  • Stacy Burrs
  • Jennifer Early
  • Lillie A. Estes*
  • Carmen Foster
  • Christopher Green
  • Joseph Jones
  • Crystal Noakes
  • Rhonda Keyes Pleasants
  • Stephanie Smith
  • Janet “Queen Nzinga” Taylor

Planning Committee

  • Councilwoman Ellen Robertson, committee chair, vice president, Richmond City Council
  • Rev. Dr. J. Elisha Burke, committee vice-chair, director of health ministry, Baptist General Convention of Virginia
  • Ana Edwards, chair, Sacred Ground Historical Reclamation Project, Defenders for Freedom, Justice and Equality
  • Joanna Wilson Green, archaeologist, Virginia Department of Historic Resources
  • John Kneebone, associate professor and chair, Department of History, VCU
  • Monika Markowitz, director of research integrity and ethics, Office of Research, VCU
  • Delegate Delores McQuinn, Slave Trail Commission
  • Larry Miller, former deputy director, Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, City of Richmond
  • Wanda Mitchell*, vice president for inclusive excellence, VCU
  • Mark Olinger, director of planning and development review, City of Richmond
  • Karen Rader, associate professor, Department of History, VCU
  • John Ulmschneider, university librarian, VCU
  • Shawn Utsey, professor, Department of Psychology, VCU
  • Russ Uzzle, former university planner, Planning and Design, VCU
  • Cricket White, Hope in the Cities

Planning Committee Staff

  • Kevin Allison, senior executive for special projects, VCU
  • Stephen Davenport, budget director, Office of the President, VCU
  • Kevin Harris, associate vice president for academic health sciences, VCU
  • Mike Porter, associate vice president for public affairs, VCU

Planning Committee Consultants

  • Michael Blakey, consultant, The College of William and Mary
  • Don Edwards, CEO, senior facilitator, Justice & Sustainability Associates
  • Brandon Mayo, project coordinator, Justice & Sustainability Associates
  • Gwen Whiting, senior associate, Justice & Sustainability Associates

Implementation Committee
Interment and Memorialization

  • Rhonda Keyes-Pleasants, committee co-chair
  • Karen Rader, committee co-chair
  • Jonathan Bibbs
  • P. Muzi Branch
  • Melanie Buffington*
  • Carmen Foster
  • Miles Gordon
  • Christopher Green
  • John Kneebone
  • Delegate Delores McQuinn
  • Mark Olinger
  • Ryan Smith
  • Stephanie Smith


  • Joseph Jones, committee co-chair
  • Monika Markowitz, committee co-chair
  • Thomas Briggs
  • Stephen Davenport
  • Jennifer Early
  • Jodi Koste
  • Crystal Noakes
  • Shawn Utsey
  • Marsha Vandervall
  • Lisa Webb
  • Joanna Wilson Green
  • Theresa Zimmerman

Implementation Committee Staff

  • Kevin Allison, senior executive for special projects, VCU
  • Corey Boone
  • Laurie Carter
  • Ollie Carter

* deceased